By Admin | Last Updated December 09, 2019
The Old Castle and the bridge over the river Adige was built by Guglielmo Bevilacqua by order of Cangrande II Scaliger, from 1354 to 1357. On the place of the castle, a roman fortress used to stand.
Finished ultimately in 1376, it is one of the prime examples of Gothic architecture but ornamental decoration was very little. Red bricks were used. It was built to be both the residence and the fortress. It is in two parts, separated by a passage overlooked by the keep.The Venetians further fortified the castle and added the slits. The castle was used as military barracks by Napoleon and then by the Austrian rulers. A ditch filled by the waters of the river Adige surrounded the castle. The moat is dry now.
The residence of the Scala family was turned into an art museum of importance in 1928 from the restoration started in 1923. The building has undergone considerable restoration. Carlo Scarpa re-designed the castle and the museum from 1957 to 1964 to what is now, after the damages suffered during the World War II. His signature style is evident in the doorways, staircases and the artwork holders.
Napoleon himself stayed in the castle during his stays in Italy.
Quick Facts – Castelvecchio
||Corso Castlevecchio, 2, 37121 Verona VR, Italy
||Tuesday to Sunday : 8.30 am to 7.30 pm / Monday : 1.30 pm to 7.30 pm
- The Bridge: The bridge was built on the River Adige, where the river is 120 meters wide. In originality, it had a span of 48.7 meters, the largest in the world. As with the castle, the upper part of the bridge was built of red bricks and white marble was used for the lower portions. It is a marvel of engineering in regard to the thirteenth century constructions. Spanning a length of nearly 120 meters, the bridge was built using bricks with the base built of local stones. There are three arched spans. The left bank tower of the bridge was destroyed by the French troops. The bridge and Ponte Pietra was blown up by the Germans on 24th April,1945. It was reconstructed, beginning in 1949, conforming to the original and opened in 1951.
The Scaliger Bridge links the castle with the north bank of the river, from which a pretty view of the fortified area can be enjoyed.
- The Museum: The Museum Civico d’Arte is an interesting one whose paintings, sculpture and collections of arms and jewelry are well displayed. On the ground floor are Veronese statues and carvings of the 10th to the 15th century. In the original apartments can be seen 12th to 16th century frescoes executed by local artists as well as canvases by Pisanello, Stefano da Verona, Giambono, lacopo, Gentile and Giovanni Bellini, Mantegna, Caroto and Carpaccio. The rooms known as the Galleria contain works by artists of the Veronese school, such as Morone, Cavazzola, Girolamo dai Libri and finally Veronese himself. The Venetian school is represented by Tintoretto, Guardi, Tiepolo and Longhi. A 1st century Roman arch has been reconstructed east of the palace. Ceramics, old bells and sarcophagus are also displayed in the museum. Architects, architecture students and professional planners world over come to study here.
How to Reach
The nearest bus station is Corso Cavour 49.